Subscribe Today

PDA Premier Trophy Award Winners

Representatives from across industry recently met in London’s Mayfair to celebrate the trade’s achievements at the 29th annual Premier Trophy Awards, organised by the Painting and Decorating Association.

Held at the London Marriott, Grosvenor Square, the event attracted a wide-range of entries across a variety of categories.

Guest speaker Mr Vincent O’Sullivan, Business Unit Director for Trade, PPG Architectural Coatings UK & Ireland and President of the British Coatings Federation, launched the ceremony with an overview of topics including apprenticeships and recycling initiatives.

The awards presentation, hosted by Mr Stuart Yates, PDA National President, then began with the PDA Apprentice /Trainee title, sponsored by CITB and Purdy.

Promise Clemons, from Bournemouth & Poole College, of Mitie Property Services, took the first prize while second prize was given to Daniel Holdcroft from Novus Property Solutions – a student at Stoke on Trent College. Michael Walters, also of Bournemouth & Poole College took third place.

The three winners were presented with vouchers to the value of £500, £200 and £100 from Purdy’s. Johnstone’s Trade donated materials for the competition heats and gifts for the winners.

The Commercial Category, which received the largest number of entries, was won by Bagnalls for their work on the Southmead Hospital Regeneration Project in Bristol, using Johnstone’s Paints.

Next up was the Industrial Category, won by C E Pittaway & Sons for their work at the Arco Distribution Centre in Hessle, using products from Sigma.

Campbell Smith & Co took the Decorative category accolade for their work at the Gatehouse, Knole House in Sevenoaks, with Rose of Jericho products, while Hankinson Painting Group won the Highly Decorative accolade for their work at the Napoleon Room and South End Gallery at Lady Lever Art Gallery in Wirral, using Johnstone’s Paints.

The Small Contractor’s Category was then presented to Neil Bailey Decorating for their work at Milton Farm in Oxfordshire, using Crown Paints, before the awards moved to the grand finale – and a double celebration for Campbell Smith & Co as the company was once again invited to the stage at the conclusion of the event to receive the Judges’ Special Award for Excellence.
This accolade, judged by the panel of Premier Trophy Award judges, Bob Hewitt, Geoff May, John Nobile, Ray Williams, Victor Hollings and Roy Young, represents all round excellence in the awards and the industry as a whole.

As well as the Premier Trophy judges, companies and individuals who made the event a success, included main sponsor Johnstone’s Trade, the Apprentice/Trainee Loyal Sponsors Purdy and CITB, Lord Scott Oliver of Bournemouth & Poole College, Ron Philpot of MICWCI and Phil Burgess the President of APCT.

Other sponsors included Owatrol, Crown Paints, Wagner, Graco, Dulux Trade, Dunlop Pro Décor, B & CE, tesa Professional, Brewers and Toupret.

PDA Premier Trophy Award Winners


Subscribe to the P&D news and P&D Show